Charles Yancey, left, and Steve Murphy

Credit: Facebook

Election Shakes Up Boston City Council As Yancey & Murphy Voted Out

November 4, 2015

Two Boston City Council stalwarts have been voted out. Fourteen-term, 32-year Councilor Charles Yancey, was defeated by newcomer Andrea Campbell, while 18-year Councilor Stephen Murphy was came up short in the at-large race, replaced by Annissa Essaibi George.

In District 4, Campbell won 61 percent of the vote, defeating Yancey 4,309 to 2,699.

Citywide, Councilor Ayanna Pressley topped the five-candidate field with 24 percent of the more than 131,000 votes cast.

Boston City Council At-Large Results

  • Ayanna Pressley: 24.21%
  • Michelle Wu: 22.02%
  • Michael Flaherty : 20.17%
  • Annissa Essaibi George : 17.86%
  • Stephen Murphy: 14.89%

After victories won by incumbents running unopposed, like South Boston's Bill Linehan and East Boston's Sal LaMattina, the council will comprise the following members.

Boston City Council

  • District 1: Sal LaMattina, East Boston
  • District 2: Bill Linehan, South Boston
  • District 3: Frank Baker, Dorchester
  • District 4: Andrea Campbell, Mattapan
  • District 5: Timothy McCarthy, Readville
  • District 6: Matt O'Malley, Jamaica Plain
  • District 7: Tito Jackson, Roxbury
  • District 8: Josh Zakim, Back Bay
  • District 9: Mark Ciommo, Allston-Brighton
  • At-Large: Ayanna Pressley, Dorchester
  • At-Large: Michelle Wu, Roslindale
  • At-Large: Michael Flaherty, South Boston
  • At-Large: Annissa Essaibi George, Dorchester

WGBH News is supported by:
Back to top